Vintage Chewy Brownie Recipe

Chewy Brownie Recipe

I contemplated what to call this vintage chewy brownie recipe. The original recipe, which was actually an old family recipe given to me by my cousin, labeled them simply as, “Brownies”.

I thought about naming them S’more Brownies, because they are smothered with marshmallows, but decided to go with chewy brownies instead, since they contain nuts. At this point of my life, I have yet to consume a S’more that contained nuts.

I included the original recipe and instructions as the main information on the recipe card, but scroll down to see my baking instructions, notes, and frosting recipe.

Ingredients  

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup bread flour
  • 1 cup pecans
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Mini marshmallows
  • Chocolate frosting

Instructions 

  • Cream butter and sugar.
  • Add cocoa and blend.
  • Add eggs.
  • Combine flour, salt, and nuts. Add to the first mixture.
  • Add vanilla.
  • Bake for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.
  • While warm, spread with mini marshmallows and return to the oven until slightly melted.
  • Frost with chocolate frosting.

Video

Notes

My directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line 9×13 baking dish with parchment paper. Cream butter and sugar. Add cocoa and mix. Add eggs, one at a time. Add flour, salt, and nuts to first mixture. Add vanilla. Bake for 45 minutes. Sprinkle 1/2 of an 10 ounce bag of mini marshmallows over the top. Return to oven for 4 minutes. Drizzle chocolate icing over the top. Refrigerate overnight. Slice, store air-tight in the fridge.

Chocolate Icing Drizzle: 3 cups powdered sugar 1/4 cup cocoa powder 1/2 tsp vanilla 1/4 plus 1 Tbsp milk

Combine together and drizzle over the top.

Notes: I’m thinking the original recipe was baked in a 15 inch jelly roll pan. I used a 9×13 baking dish and altered the time to 45 for baking. I used self-rising flour instead of bread flour and 1/2 cup of chopped walnuts instead of 1 cup of pecans.

Are you a brownie lover? Check out my recipe for Reese’s brownies!

For affordable baking products, check and see if there is a Lidl grocery store in your area.

Vintage chewy brownie recipe

Leave a comment